Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Best settings for mp2 encoding (Read 16690 times) previous topic - next topic

Best settings for mp2 encoding

Hi everyone,
I'm not an expert, so be gentle...

Reply #1
Hi,

Are you sure you mean mp2 and not mp3?

just asking.....
I have no clue about what would be a good mp2 setting and why anyone whould want to use that.

Reply #2
I'm trying to convert AC3 to mp2 (svcd), but i can't find the settings that will stop the sound from hissing in the background (mostly heard in silent scenes). I've search other forums but i can't get answers. Even if i can get pretty good results at 384 kbps, i want to encode at 224 to be able to get higher video bitrate.
I'm using BeSweet (azid--»ssrc--»toolame) and my usual settings are: azid: STEREO ;  2 lame (-e -b 224 -m s) ;
ssrc: 48khz---»44.1khz
Just for testing purpose, i've convert the AC3 to MP3(192kbps) and i was getting excellent results (no hissing at all when listening with WinAmp)...that was not the case with MP2!!!

Thanks for your help

Reply #3
Use tooLame with Psychoacoustic Model #2 (-p 2). It's much better than #1 (default)

Regards;

Roberto.

Reply #4
If it's an actuall hiss. ie high frequency psst rather than artifactingy of the codec which is what i presume you are reffering to, you could try sound kind of sound processing in soundforge et cetera to reduce the hiss.
If it is artifactingy for certain, go with Roberto's suggestion, i've never done any mp2 encoding before.

Kristian Tippins

Ps.

Sorry Roberto, i called you Robertoe earlier in another post, no offence intended, just a poor typist 

Reply #5