Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Wasapi help (Read 3323 times) previous topic - next topic

Wasapi help

I have a Asus Xonar D2X connected via analogue.  This is best soundcard i have ever owned and i have gone through many in my years as a PC gamer, movie watcher and audiophile.  I am also new to Foobar in as much as i have been using it for the past week and before that i was on Winamp.  Anyway i stumbled unto the "benefits" of bit-matched playback and have been configuring foobar for such usage.  So far i have configured it for ASIO using the Xonar's native ASIO driver (no ASIO4ALL) but it does not mute other sound outputs.  Now i have gotten the wasapi driver installed and it works but not for multichannel audio.  I have a lot of 24/96 audio files in 5.1 and i keep getting an "unsupported format" error when i try to play them.  I have no problem with 2.0 channel 24/96 files so it seen that the problem is with multichannel files - i get the sam error with multichannel 16/44 DTS wav files.

To be honest i am not interested in a debate on the possible qualitative gains of bit-matched playback adnuseum, the fact that i can't get multichannel audio in wasapi mode really bugs the hell out of me, plus the fact that ASIO does not mute is another pet peev.

Any help will be appreciated.

Cheers

Wasapi help

Reply #1
if i recall correctly wasapi only supports the bitrate & samplerate of files the same as the output mode set on the soundcard & in Foobar.

i got around this by using the resampler & mono to stereo DSP plugins, as i downloaded a 8 bit mono single & it simply wouldnt play with wasapi.