Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: FLACs w/no tags, only XML files—how to get info and change file names? (Read 6216 times) previous topic - next topic

FLACs w/no tags, only XML files—how to get info and change file names?

Hi,
I am new to this and new to flac in particular, so I apologize if this question has been answered before.

My problem is flac files with no metadata. My goal is to insert the correct metadata and change the file names to something more informative.

I have several directories of flac files. I don't know what program was used to rip them. It may have been on a PC or a Mac. It looks like they were ripped in 2006.

Can anyone tell me if any currently available software can make sense of the files listed below?

Thanks.

--------------

Each directory has the same files:

01.flac
02.flac
cover.bak
cover.jpg
info.xml
info.xml.backup
info.xml.bak
infonew.xml
infonew.xml.new
prescrub2.xml
rescrub3.xml
titles.tmp

Reply #1
Please note the amended title of this thread. The previous one provided barely any description.

The suggestions in the recent topic on recommended programs for FLAC tagging may or may not have this capability. Perhaps you could try something like this or something else.

In any case, this demonstrates yet again just one of the reasons not to obtain files from questionable sources—something that, by mentioning, you may have reduced your chances of anyone taking time to help you.

Reply #2