Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Extracting Soundtrack From Movie? (Read 17705 times) previous topic - next topic

Extracting Soundtrack From Movie?

I'm trying to figure out a way to extract audio from the two front speakers from a movie as an MKV file that I have. The audio is in 5.1 surround. I am completely new to this and would like a detailed how to process. Thank you

Reply #2
Since you specifically want to extract the two front channels, I'd suggest you use eac3to.  It's a command-line program and very powerful.  With it you could very easily extract and downmix the 5.1 audio to stereo and output it to, say, flac.  Or if you truly want just the front channels and not a downmix, you could take the 5.1 track, output each channel as a separate flac, then use any audio editor to create a stereo track from the two front channels. 

Reply #3
So I have the ac3 file of the audio on the DVD (all 5 channels). When I go into EAC3to, I open it in the source file section, and nothing is grayed out except "PCM and TrueHD Options", "DTS Rate", "Channel Order Mode", and everything under "Set Custom Channel Order". Also, I just realized that the soundtrack also plays through the surround L & R channels. Sorry if I'm a little gray with the details, this is the first time I've attempted something like this.

Reply #4
If you'd ask me, I would use Avisynth, FFmpegSource and avs2pipemod. This way you don't even have to extract the soundtrack from the MKV-container.

Open Notepad and enter:
Code: [Select]
FFMpegSource2("<path>\movie.mkv", atrack=-1)
GetChannel(1,2)
Save as "movie_soundtrack.avs".