Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Excluding 'the' in sorting artists, jump to artist by key (Read 5992 times) previous topic - next topic

Excluding 'the' in sorting artists, jump to artist by key

Alright, so I'm fairly new to Foobar, as I've been a MediaMonkey user. But I'm trying to switch to completely use Foobar

That said, I'm still confused by all these UIs, Facets, and other various components to Foobar.
So I've been adding my MP3 files to a playlist alongside another playlist for my FLAC files. I understand that adding songs/files directly to a playlist doesn't add them to my Foobar library which is what I want. But how do I get them to auto-sort? Foobar wasn't excluding 'the' in sorting artists, so I have Foo Facets. But whenever I exit Foobar, my playlist doesn't remember to sort like that. In Library - Configure - Facets, I have the box checked off: Ignore leading 'the' when sorting. Why isn't this working 24/7?

Also, is there a way to have Foobar jump to the artist respective to the key I hit? Just like in iTunes or MediaMonkey, when users hit 'f,' the programs jump to the first artist starting with the letter 'f.' Is is possible to do the same in Foobar?

If anyone could help, that would be awesome. I've tried reading the FAQ and other threads, but have no idea what to do...

Reply #1
Also, is there a way to have Foobar jump to the artist respective to the key I hit? Just like in iTunes or MediaMonkey, when users hit 'f,' the programs jump to the first artist starting with the letter 'f.' Is is possible to do the same in Foobar?

The latest version, 1.1.11, has that feature.