Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: What does probability that your guessing mean? (Read 8253 times) previous topic - next topic

What does probability that your guessing mean?

Hi guys I'm new to this audio decoding and ABX test. So what does it mean? The bigger the value is the better your hearing or vice versa? I just do some test between 320 kbps mp3 and 320 kbps aac. Here the result. Is it good or is it bad?

foo_abx 2.0.1 report
foobar2000 v1.3.9 beta 3
2015-09-25 00:45:34

File A: 01 - &Z .mp3
SHA1: 1595766308cfcafbb2678e0271ffadc038d340de
File B: 01 - &Z .m4a
SHA1: 9a87f5cd6634ba3a2060046b8ae4ffb938713f6e

Output:
DS : Primary Sound Driver
Crossfading: NO

00:45:34 : Test started.
00:46:35 : 01/01
00:47:15 : 02/02
00:48:14 : 03/03
00:49:17 : 04/04
00:50:04 : 05/05
00:51:05 : 05/06
00:53:09 : 06/07
00:54:28 : 06/08
00:59:35 : 07/09
01:00:23 : 08/10
01:00:58 : 09/11
01:01:58 : 09/12
01:02:25 : 09/13
01:02:25 : Test finished.

----------
Total: 9/13
Probability that you were guessing: 13.3%

-- signature --
5a7c986d6c1f8d882e1ef78f193de0ab3d198bf3
I will think about tomorrow's problem tomorrow

Reply #1
Did you set out to do exactly 13 trials in advance? Because you must fix the number of trials before doing the first one or else the probability will be wrong.

A high probability of guessing means you failed the test.

Reply #2
Did you set out to do exactly 13 trials in advance? Because you must fix the number of trials before doing the first one or else the probability will be wrong.

Yeah I set it to 13 because 16 is too much for me.
So that mean that test was a success?