Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: analyze stereo() and -x mode questions (Read 5500 times) previous topic - next topic

analyze stereo() and -x mode questions

I am a wavpack freshman, have some questions.
In default mode, why Encoder call analyze stereo() only when first block or terms_num == 0, can this ensure all blocks will be encoded with ideal mode (joint_stereo or not) and ideal weights, samples, medians?
Then, what's the purpose of the extra mode (0 - 6) respectively?

The version of Codec i read is 4.32.
Thank you!

Reply #1
In normal mode everything is encoded in forced joint stereo. x modes can increase compression without affecting decoding speed (mode 2-6) and also do adaptive joint stereo (mode 1-6). That is all I know.

Reply #2
I am a wavpack freshman, have some questions.
In default mode, why Encoder call analyze stereo() only when first block or terms_num == 0, can this ensure all blocks will be encoded with ideal mode (joint_stereo or not) and ideal weights, samples, medians?
Then, what's the purpose of the extra mode (0 - 6) respectively?

The version of Codec i read is 4.32.
Thank you!

In the cases where the "extra" mode is being used, analyze_stereo() is called for every block to compute the best filter for that block. When "extra" mode is not being used (the default) then the decorrelation state (and the entropy stuff as well) is simply used directly from where the previous block left off (since all the parameters are adaptive).