Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: EAC > FLAC > AAC with Foobar (Read 9095 times) previous topic - next topic

EAC > FLAC > AAC with Foobar

Greetings, gents.  This is my first post. 

I am an audiophile in training, so to speak, and follow feedback from all of you in order to get the best possible audio for my PC and my iPod.  I'm no expert, but am starting to distinguish good encoding from not so good (or even BAD) encoding.

Which leads me to my current question: 

I use EAC to rip my discs to FLAC (for archiving) and then use Foobar to convert my FLAC files to AAC (for my iPod).  I'm encoding at 224kbps with -q 0.6 -ignorelength -if - -of %d in Foobar's command line.  I'm getting seemingly transparent audio when playing the AAC files through Foobar and Winamp. 

But when I listen to them with my Grado SR80s through iTunes and my iPod they don't sound as good:  I notice static at the beginning of guitar riffs.  One song, in particular, is AC/DC's Snowballed from For Those About to Rock (just one of my many genres of music tastes), which I thought would be a good test.  In fact, several other songs from AC/DC are doing the same thing.  I've only ripped about 3 discs this way, 2 from AC/DC and one from 311, and the 311 files sounded fine in iTunes and my iPod.

Is there anything I can do to make the audio sound just as good (or at least BETTER) on my iPod?  I tried the Sound Enhancer function on iTunes, which seems to help, but that function isn't available on my iPod.   

I apologize if my terminology above isn't up to speed yet.  It's a process, just like my encoding.   

Many thanks for any feedback!

Reply #1