Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Request : Read Wav INFO Riff (Read 4750 times) previous topic - next topic

Request : Read Wav INFO Riff

Hello !

I am a music composer and i use a lot of samples that can't be converted to lossless format. Why ? Because synthesizer or Sampler need wav format and they can't read lossless format (flac, wavpack, ...).

So i have to organize my sample collection with the RIFF Info that is in wav standard specs.
An exemple of wave header : getID3() PHP

In the RIFF Info Chunk there is a lost of information that could be integrated in the foobar2000 data base :
  • 'IART' : Artist
  • 'ICMT' : Comment
  • 'IGNR' : Genre
  • 'INAM' : Title
  • 'DTIM' : DateTimeOriginal

With Winamp you could read this type of chunk (but i hate Winamp). So why the foobar2000 wav input could'nt read this type of tags.

There is solutions for change this problem :
  • Search by the name of the wav (artist=john smith.title=hello world.genre=country.wav). But it is too long.
  • Use Winamp (but this is not a good decision!)
  • Foobar2000 dev team developp this parse feature (i'm not a developper)

Any solution ! (but please don't answer me by : "convert to lossless format it's impossible, ok"!)

Reply #2
WAV metadata is no longer supported. It was supported during the v0.8.x series, but support was dropped for v0.9. I miss it too.

Reply #3
WAV metadata is no longer supported. It was supported during the v0.8.x series, but support was dropped for v0.9. I miss it too.

and why ? metadata is part of the wav spec.

Reply #4
No it is not. Read those documents you linked more carefully.

Reply #5