Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Digital vs. Analog (Read 8801 times) previous topic - next topic

Digital vs. Analog

Have patience, I'm a newbie at understanding the intricacies of good audio. Here's what I'm trying to make sense of: you go to buy cables and they rate them as RCA connections being the worst, optical/digital cables being the next step up, and HDMI the best. Then you start looking at things like Peachtree amps (stuff $1,000 - $2,000) and they only have RCA connectors.

How do you make sense of these inconsistencies?

And if you're going to use lossless, computer based audio to feed an amp what is the best way to go about this?

Digital vs. Analog

Reply #1
And if you're going to use lossless, computer based audio to feed an amp what is the best way to go about this?

You could get an amp with a built in DAC with HDMI, Optical or USB inputs. All you need is 44.1Khz/16bit or 48Khz/16bit support. Going above this would not give you better quality.

Have patience, I'm a newbie at understanding the intricacies of good audio. Here's what I'm trying to make sense of: you go to buy cables and they rate them as RCA connections being the worst, optical/digital cables being the next step up, and HDMI the best. Then you start looking at things like Peachtree amps (stuff $1,000 - $2,000) and they only have RCA connectors.

Those amps probably don't have built-in DACs so you need to purchase a seperate DAC and feed that analog output to the amp with RCA.
A lot of things in high-end audio don't make any sense.

Digital vs. Analog

Reply #2
LithosZA' said "A lot of things in high-end audio don't make any sense."