Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Audio codec development help for a noob (Read 1730 times) previous topic - next topic

Audio codec development help for a noob

Hi all,

So I've been thinking about asking this question here for a long time, since I have no idea if somebody willing to help on such low level. Here goes nothing.

I would like to learn how to develop an audio codec. Since this is a vast subject, and involves lot of math and DSP theory, I'm looking for something simple which can introduce me to the area. I have no prior knowledge or education with this, besides knowing what these codecs do on the high level, and experimenting with them as an end user. I'm a developer in my day job though. (I've rewritten WavPack in the past into Dart, but it was more-or-less a direct translation without actually understanding what each part of the codec does.)

Since my math knowledge is rusty (uni was a long time ago), I would appricate something which allows me to approach from the coding side and to lookup the related concepts and expressions from that.

I'm trying to find some example code which is not too complex, but involves researching and also to provide some fun with experimentation by fine-tuning things. I would like to redo and rewrite it myself.