Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: CDA-II (Read 4970 times) previous topic - next topic

CDA-II

CD Audio, specially but not only backups, have the big problem to do not last forever.
Specially if poor quality discs are used.

As some copy-protections like Cactus Data Shield use the available disc space on a 2nd session for that EVIL purpose, we could use a similar way to do a GOOD job.

I'm no coder yet, but hope some developer looks this. I find that's a good idea.

I though it would be useful to create a CDaudio, readable on regular CDaudio players, but using a 2nd session (if there is enough space available) for enhaced ECC codes and sector&track' CRC values, as CDaud¡o's error correction ain't very good.

So, if a backup disc is dying, a computer could restore the track by reading the "external" ECC codes.

If even the ECC codes couldn't restore a small portion of the data by any reason (a few bytes only), the system would engage a brute force attack mode to match the sector' CRC by changing the non-coincident bytes along on the sector until it matches.

If EAC implemented such a feature, it would be even better than now it is, specially if it allowed to copy the added-on ECC session! 

So, you could successfully rip your backup disc, making it even more secure than the original, specially if y're using reliable discs.

CDA-II

Reply #1
Why not rip your disc to Monkeys Audio? - it will be half as small and write the files out twice to the disc, or even better spread the files across two discs...

CDA-II

Reply #2