Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Audio players on unix-based platform? (Read 6447 times) previous topic - next topic

Audio players on unix-based platform?

Hi, everybody, i'm a newbie in both audio engineering and programming.
I've got an ibook and i've been using foobar2000 on windows for years.
i wondered if there's any audio player built for unix like foobar2000.
i've been trying to get flac files played on mac os x for months, and i've tried dozens of programs but none of them worked.
i'm thought about building one myself but because i cannot program well, so i think i should just look for awesome people's programs.
I've much to learn and i'm currently fighting against the school work.

Reply #1
The audio player I use in Linux is xmms.  There are plugins for mp3, vorbis, mpc, aac, flac, wma, etc.  It is basically a winamp clone so it is not anything like foobar2k, though.

Reply #3
I don't know of one, but I'm amazed that nobody has produced something like FB2K for *nix. It seems like exactly the kind of audio player a Linux person would set out to build and use, since it's so close to the overall Linux philosophy of modularity and simple, yet powerful specialized tools.

Reply #4
The most popular player is of course iTunes (assuming you use OS X?). For playback of lossless codecs like FLAC you could use PureMusic, although using FLACer to convert to other more supported formats is probably easier.

Reply #5
I'm hoping PureMusic will evolve into a more stable and full-featured player but I still find MacAmp Lite the best for FLAC/SHN playback, particularly if the files are archived on optical discs.

Reply #6