Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Clickable stars for rating (Read 7079 times) previous topic - next topic

Clickable stars for rating

I was wondering whether foobar allows you to rate your songs just by clicking on the stars (or whatever symbols you use to display ratings). I am using foobar2000 v1.1.10 and using the "Playback Statistics: component to rate my songs. I have also enabled starred ratings to show up in one of the columns of Playlist tab.
The script I am using to show rating stars is $if(%rating%,$repeat(☆,$sub(5,%rating%))$repeat(★,%rating%))

Thanks for help. I am new to foobar and am migrating from windows media player for its inability to export/import playcounts and ratings.

Reply #1
Change your playlist viewer to the component simplaylist. It comes standard with a stars column and is clickable.

Reply #2
Change your playlist viewer to the component simplaylist. It comes standard with a stars column and is clickable.

Thanks a lot tpijag. Simplaylist works just like I wanted. One thing I noticed is that there are two columns for ratings - 'Rating' and 'Rating DB'. I changed the ratings and saw that the 'Rating DB' column actually corresponds to the Playback Statistics component's ratings. Both columns are able to write to the file property tag named 'Rating' anyways. I hope I am right.

Thanks again. Solved.

Reply #3
NO both do not right to a tag.
By default, Foo_playcount writes to a database and your rating column writes it's metadata to a tag. Take a look at the docs to foo_playcount and it should explain everthing.

Reply #4
NO both do not right to a tag.