Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Giving sound that old compact casette sound (Read 7983 times) previous topic - next topic

Giving sound that old compact casette sound

Hi,

I'm trying to edit a recording so that it sounds as if it has been on a well used casette tape for a while. i'm not exactly sure where to start as i'm quite new to audio editing. if you could give me some advice on what to tweak and how i would appreciate it.

i've been lurking here ffor a while and it seems a nicer place than i tried last time where i got flamed by audiophiles asking how i could destroy the sound like that.

Reply #1
So are you trying to pass something off as a lost demo, or attempting to degrade the sound of an actual rarity so that you can hoard the original while still using the "cassette" version as trade fodder? 

Simplest (and most natural-sounding) method would simply be to use a few cassette decks, and bounce the recording back and forth until it is sufficiently worn.

- M.

Reply #2
So are you trying to pass something off as a lost demo, or attempting to degrade the sound of an actual rarity so that you can hoard the original while still using the "cassette" version as trade fodder? 

its actually for a game. its not even music.

Simplest (and most natural-sounding) method would simply be to use a few cassette decks, and bounce the recording back and forth until it is sufficiently worn.

- M.

yes that would be easiest but unfortunately i do not even own one and i'm not going to buy one just for a couple of minutes of audio effects.