Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: AM Frequency Analysis (Read 5432 times) previous topic - next topic

AM Frequency Analysis

Hello,

I am a newb to audio analysis and I'm hoping someone can advise me on how to solve a problem I've been unable to solve myself. I'm trying to determine the frequency at which a 19.2 kHz tone in an audio recording is being modulated at. I know that the modulation frequency is probably between 0 to 50Hz, and this frequency varies throughout the recording. The modulation waveform is probably a sine, but may be a square wave. I'm just interested in extracting the AM frequency over time, and I preferably want to have an accuracy of at least 0.5Hz.

I can see the 19.2 kHz peak in frequency analysis software, but I can't work out how I can process the data further to get what I'm after.

Any suggestions gratefully received. 

AM Frequency Analysis

Reply #1
Amplitude modulation should give you two additional frequency peaks, at the sum and difference of the frequencies. Look for small peaks just either side of the main peak. Locating them within +- 0.5 Hz will require a fairly wide window on your FFT.

AM Frequency Analysis

Reply #2
Amplitude modulation should give you two additional frequency peaks, at the sum and difference of the frequencies. Look for small peaks just either side of the main peak. Locating them within +- 0.5 Hz will require a fairly wide window on your FFT.