Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Panels UI Alternative (Read 6342 times) previous topic - next topic

Panels UI Alternative

I am well over my head here but what the hell - my idea is to develop something similar to the now lost and dead foo_ui_panels component.

Unfortunately I've no experience in creating components for programs.

My first question is how hard is this project going to be?
Bear in mind that its not going to have all the features of panels ui - its more likely to be a "track display" component with titleformatting and a "single column playlist" feature very similar to panels ui but intended to be an addition to the columns ui component rather than its own separate component.

My second question is what else do I need to know before I start?
I have the foobar2000 SDK and the columns ui SDK (which I understand I need). I will be basically learning C++ as i go along (i gather this is what components are written with) as I've never properly used it before. I can also bring in the help of some mates who know some C++ and many other languages. I've never been a fan of programming - I'm much more hardware based but I have motivation to do this. I've also downloaded the "developers tutorial" but have no idea where to start.

Also - does anyone know if there is any other SDK etc details for the original single column playlist or panels ui or an equivalent track display component floating around? It would be much easier if I have something to start with!

Also anything I should know about creating titleformatting would be appreciated.