Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: FFmpeg Decoder Wrapper (foo_input_ffmpeg) passthrough output (Read 1435 times) previous topic - next topic

FFmpeg Decoder Wrapper (foo_input_ffmpeg) passthrough output

First of all, I'm no coder. Looking at the console, it seems to me that the ffmpeg plugin assumes a certain use for it. Namely that of decoding all kind of audio that users pass to it. That's understandable. Object-based surround codecs, though, can't be decoded this way and, in this case, would need a true passthrough option. FFMPEG has that capability, I think through its spdif_muxer (I guess the name has historical reasons, considering hi-res formats are beyond spdif capabilities).

Is there anything that could be done to make this accessible to end users? One could use only .mka files for Atmos content and pass those through to an AVR capable of decoding them.

It's the same that happens if you play WAV encapsulated AC3 or DTS content, without having a decoder installed for that kind of content. If you use WASAPI and output bitperfect content (fixed volume at 100%), the AVR decodes it if connected through HDMI (or spdif in that case, I suppose).

Currently the hardcoded instruction looks like this:

ffmpeg.exe" -i "INPUTFILE" -map 0:0 -f w64 -acodec pcm_f32le -