Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: EAC error correction question (Read 11564 times) previous topic - next topic

EAC error correction question

Hey guys,

I have been using EAC for many years. I'm currently using V0.95b3, in fact I guess that's the version I always used. Never gave me any problem

However, there's a concern I've always had and never managed to figure it out. I think now is the time.

Is it normal to ALWAYS get the error correction bar to work at some tracks on a CD ? I mean, even if the CD is in PERFECT conditions (brand new), I always get the red error correction bar working a bit on some tracks (always at the end of them).

Like I said, I have burned TONS of CDs (mostly of them at perfect conditions) but I always get the error correction bar working at the end of like 2-5 tracks on each CD. Hence, I always get 99.9 quality on those 2-5 tracks per CD. The rest is 100% quality at the final report. I have never got a FULL result of 100% track quality on ANY of all the cds I burned, the error correction always appears on some tracks even if the CD is perfect.

My question is, is this normal ? Is it something techinal regarding about EAC/drives that needs to do it at the end of some tracks ?

Any comment would be really appreciated

Thanks!!

Reply #1
It's perfectly normal; an annoying side effect from the way EAC specifically requests and utilizes discrete chunks of data in order to satisfy its internal requirements to ensure secure ripping.