Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: 16-bit files that are edited at 32-bit—Is it OK to reduce to 16 again? (Read 5760 times) previous topic - next topic

16-bit files that are edited at 32-bit—Is it OK to reduce to 16 again?

I am not very experienced in audio processing theory but I would like to learn more about it. So please help me.

The situation

Several years ago hard drives have been expensive and their capacity was limited compared with nowadays. So I made the mistake of compressing recordings (44.100 Hz, 16-bit) of my own compositions into a lossy format (mp3, 320 kBit/s CBR; I don't know whether flac or Wavepack have already exist at that time).

In the meantime I have edited some of those files in Audacity (which internally uses 32 bit as far as I know) and saved this edited files as "WAV Microsoft 32 bit float" for further editing.

My question

In advance some of the edited tracks I have to send to a studio in a lossless format (as test recording only, no editing there) and by no means I want to risk a loss of audio quality once more.

For transmitting to the studio can I nevertheless reduce the 32-bit files to 16-bit (because the source files have not been better) or should I use 32-bit (because Audacity uses it)?

English is not my mother tongue but I hope you will understand my concern, it is very important for me. I would appreciate any suggestions.

Robertina.
This is HA. Not the Jerry Springer Show.

Reply #1
As long as the studio is not going to do any further processing of the files I would send 16 bit.

Reply #2
Edit in 32-bit, when finished, go back to 16-bit.

- Spike

Reply #3