Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: HELP! Gapless playback of ape files in foobar. HOW? (Read 11010 times) previous topic - next topic

HELP! Gapless playback of ape files in foobar. HOW?

Hi, everyone.  I am brand new to all of this so bear with me.

I've searched all over the internet for an hour or so trying to find an answer to what I think is a pretty simple question.

Tonight I ripped a CD which has tracks (of course) but there is no silence between the tracks, the songs run together.  When I use foobar to play the wav files it plays them gapless.  However, after I convert the files to .ape foobar (or something) puts a gap in between all of the tracks.

I've seen a few places in different forums where people talk about foobar being able to play ape files gaplessly, but no one says how.  Is there a setting somewhere in EAC, Monkey's Audio or Foobar that I'm missing?

I also keep reading about cue sheets, of which I know nothing.  Do I have to use them to get gapless playback of ape files?  Is that the only way?

Any help would be appreciated.  At this point I don't even care what the answer is, I JUST NEED ONE!  I can't believe I haven't come across an answer after an hour of searching.  My internet skills must be turning to mush.   

Thanks.

---------------------------------------------

I had a great suggestion from samhain86 to add the solution below to this original post so no one has to hunt for it.  Good idea, I think!