Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: XRecode solves a problem (Read 7702 times) previous topic - next topic

XRecode solves a problem

I'm a musician and sound engineer and I use ALAC for iPod listening. By way of a little background, I primarily use my iPod as the source for a high end car audio system which controls the iPod from the head unit. And since ALAC is my only lossless choice for the iPod (unless I want to monkey with the RockBox hack, which I don't) then I'm stuck with Apple's proprietary format.

My only problem? I use FLAC at home on my media server. In fact, I use it to feed a great home system which sounds killer. I love the FLAC format. I use EAC to rip to FLAC and the sound is pristine. And I wanted a similar quality of sound in my car. But here's the rub. In order to convert FLAC to ALAC for use in my iPod, I was stuck with iTunes. Now, don't ask me why, but I loathe iTunes. I hate the way it looks. I hate the way it constantly tries to assert itself and take over management of my music library. And I hate being FORCED to use it because Apple has decided not to support any other lossless formats. Call me an Apple hater. That's ok. I've always been a PC man and probably always will be. So there I was, required to use iTunes against my will.