Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: 64-bit plugins for 32-bit foobar (Read 5446 times) previous topic - next topic

64-bit plugins for 32-bit foobar

My current foobar DSP plugin project requires more address space than is available to a 32-bit process. To get around that limitation, I use a virtual memory hack called File Mapping that allows multiple processes to map the same real memory space into their own virtual address space. It works very nicely but my implementation is not pretty because I am an old-time assembly language programmer who knows only a little C at the DOS level but nothing about programming C++, Windows, or foobar other than copying code snippets from tutorials.

As it works now, when my DSP plugin is initialized it attempts to open an existing file mapping object. If that fails, the plugin spawns a 64-bit companion process and then waits for the for the companion process to create a file mapping object. Once the plugin detects the file mapping object, the two processes begin the dance whereby they alternate access to the shared address space. In my implementation, the companion program and its file mapping object persist while the DSP plugin process comes and goes.

I hope an experienced foobar developer will expand this idea and create a package that will give any foobar component access to the advantages of a 64-bit environment without having to muck around with process creation, synchronization, messaging, and control.
Jon Bokelman

Re: 64-bit plugins for 32-bit foobar

Reply #1
That's a neat trick! :D