Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: A question about audio cables.  (Read 8258 times) previous topic - next topic

A question about audio cables.

I recently had a discussion about the impact of audio cables on sound quality and their transparency. I’m no expert but I think that even a little logic dictates that cables obviously have no way of adding information to a signal other than distortion and that the sound quality through speakers cables for example doesn’t seem to be some big issue people have had for the last 70 years. Therefore, if anyone really does hear a difference with a cable, it could only be colouring the sound rather than being transparent. I really doubt of even that though. The counter argument has do with impedance and losing signal that creates roll off of frequencies over distances. The argument is also that things like lower impedance headphones could be even more succeptible to this. I feel that it’s a lot to ask, but could anyone explain if it’s even possible for speaker or headphone cables to make a difference and if so, does this actually happen in the real world?

Re: A question about audio cables.

Reply #1
Cables would have to be very, very long for capacitance to have audible interference with the signal. Impedance at such low frequencies can't affect frequency response of normal home speaker cables. AFAIK.
Error 404; signature server not available.

Reply #2