Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Biased opinions about preset extreme (Read 11184 times) previous topic - next topic

Biased opinions about preset extreme

Hello all

Im a confessed audiophile and im new to this whole mp3 business. I decided to give mp3s a try shying away from my preffered CD player in favour of an iRiver H320 for long distance travelling and the likes.

Naturally i was concerned about compression and the quality of my music as a result. I respect many of you have been testing mp3 LAME versions for years and have some extensive knowledge about using these codecs. Hopefully you'll not strike me down for being new 

I naturally started off compressing my cd collection using the following command line params in EAC : %l--alt-preset 128%l%h--alt-preset extreme%h %s %d
I was impressed with the results and found it hard to detect any real worrying depreciation in quality taking into consideration the equipment used. I was listening through my iRiver with some Sennheiser HD 25 SP phones.

I chose extreme because i want top quality, Insane seem to be an overkill. The extra 1.5meg per file that extreme produces i can most definatly live with. A lot of people like size v quality, however with a 20gb player i could only class myself as being lazy by not deleting infrequently listened to albums for new additions if my file sizes were bigger due to using extreme.