Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Using Neural Networks to Resolve Lossy Artefacts (Read 2731 times) previous topic - next topic

Using Neural Networks to Resolve Lossy Artefacts

Hello everyone!

Just spitballing here, I have no background in neural networks or AI, however I wondered if any research was being done to use these technologies to compensate or resolve issues introduced by lossy encoding? ie, reduced bandwidth, pre echo artefacts etc.

From what I understand, we can know what lossy encoder was used, we can profile that with huge data sets (lossy and lossless examples of music). Can we not use this data to reconstruct what was removed with a reasonable level of confidence? I recently got Izotope RX 9 and it can almost perform miracles using neural networks, so I was wondering what the next step could be.

Is there any work being done on this? Is it completely impossible?

Re: Using Neural Networks to Resolve Lossy Artefacts

Reply #1
Assume it is possible, for optimal results, such a product may require a large and constantly updated online database which means users may need to subscribe for the service, could be expensive.

But for now, there are something like this:
https://www.stereotool.com/documentation/9.23/delossifier/

Probably not powered by AI I suppose. Not very convincing result either, IMO.

Reply #2
I wouldn't expect any miracles from such tech. Said iZotope tools, also produce unnatural-sounding results, with artifacts similar to those of lossy codecs when pushed to the limits.

Besides, the usefulness is also debatable, as often it's possible to just find a better source to work with.