Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: miniDSP with an AVR? (Read 5355 times) previous topic - next topic

miniDSP with an AVR?

I'm new to this and I'm confused.  I'd like to learn how to do basic digital room correction and thought miniDSP was the way to go.

Using a miniDSP seems straightforward with a 2.1 setup:

https://www.minidsp.com/applications/digital-crossovers/subwoofer-integration-with-minidsp
I.e, the input is a source-level line-out, and the output goes to your power amps/active speakers. As long as you have some sort of source-selector and volume-control, this makes a lot of sense.

But with an AVR over HDMI, how does a nanoAVR HD connect and work?

https://www.minidsp.com/ht-series/nanoavr-hd

It has 2 HDMI inputs and one HDMI output.  I assume a cablebox and blu-ray player are fed directly into the miniDSP box ... but if you then send the output to your AVR for amplification, won't the AVR then reprocess the signals and completely mess up the work that the nanoAVR did?  How do you go from its HDMI output into multi-channel amplification?

If there is a link to a post somewhere that explains this in detail, please point me to it. I have searched to no avail.

How do the experts here add DSP based room correction to their multi-channel setups? Or even if they only want room correction for their 2-channel music, how do they connect/integrate it if they are using a blu-ray player as a CD player and an AVR as an amp?

Thanks for any help!

Re: miniDSP with an AVR?

Reply #1