Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Comparison of album's different pressings (Read 2986 times) previous topic - next topic

Comparison of album's different pressings

Hello.
I'm looking for a way to compare lossless audio CD rips of albums (different pressings/releases) to remove duplicates.
Thinking about software that shows how much do tracks differ (in % or audio characteristics/graphics? I'm not that experienced in audio)
Thanks.

Re: Comparison of album's different pressings

Reply #1
You culd try to check for the best DR (Dynamic Range) files you can find. Those are (usually!) the best ones to keep.

Reply #2
I'd say that "different pressings" are not the same as "different releases" ...

foobar2000 can bit-compare and (usually-ish) identify tracks that are the same except offset (meaning, you would have gotten the same bits if the track boundaries were not a few samples off, which is very often the case for different pressings of the same audio).  But you need to know what to compare, it cannot scan.

Dupeguru, http://www.hardcoded.net/dupeguru_me/ can scan for identicals.

Far from perfect - outright stupid at times, I'd say - is Similarity, http://www.similarityapp.com . It uses "acoustic fingerprints" but - as far as I can tell - only selects pieces of the track. But putting it to high precision and allowing for a percent different track lengths, should give you a fairly good indication.

Reply #3