Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: vinyl n00b. need help with basic audio setup (Read 14458 times) previous topic - next topic

vinyl n00b. need help with basic audio setup

I apologize if this isn't the right place to be posting this.

I received a turntable for Christmas from my parents and it was apparently not the "portable" kind they had in mind. I.e., they didn't realize that I would need speakers to go with it. It's the Audio-Technica LP60.

I was born in the 90's so I'm new to all of this, but I did some research (though I don't think enough) and ended up ordering the Micca MB42x. As I'm reading more about speakers and such, I learn the difference between active and passive (I said i was n00b) and realize that I *probably* will need a receiver. However the LP60 turntable I have has a pre-amp built in, and a switch on the back for phono or line.

Do I need a receiver? Did I get the wrong speakers?

I do have 16 gauge speaker wire. I do not know what I am doing. Please help!

Thanks in advance,

headup

Reply #1
I apologize if this isn't the right place to be posting this.

I received a turntable for Christmas from my parents and it was apparently not the "portable" kind they had in mind. I.e., they didn't realize that I would need speakers to go with it. It's the Audio-Technica LP60.