Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Help for the lamers out there (Read 5258 times) previous topic - next topic

Help for the lamers out there

Okay - gonna cause a problem here a bit like I once did back on the VQF.com/bbs.

I am not an audio engineer, sound technician, programmer or even someone who understands physics that well :], but the encoding of audio using lossy techniques and models of human hearing really intrigues me.

Furthermore, using something like Lame which has got to be one of the best audio projects ever as it is constantly being tweaked by a bunch of audio nuts who are the best about in the non-commercial sector, I have come to a better understanding of what some of the terminology, switches and parameters do.

BUT, what I would possibly trade a family member for is a glossary or perhaps (because there are so many terms and only the few that really understand them) a dictionary/combination thesaurus.

I would really love to feel confident that I understand what a short block is, what it does and why it is better than a long block (or not) and where one would use it

I have yet to come across anything like this that really appreciates just how little the average lamer knows