Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Switch Left & Right without re-encoding (Read 5228 times) previous topic - next topic

Switch Left & Right without re-encoding

I need to be able to switch the left and right channels in mp3 files. I'd like to do this in a lossless manner by writting a little applet to binary modify the mp3 file and simply swap whatever left and right identifiers exist in the file. I would rather not have to import the mp3 file into something like Audacity and then reencode it after swaping the channels.

I am a computer programmer; however, I write business applicaiton in .Net and I'm not familiar with the mp3 file format. What I'm looking for is enough information on the mp3 file format to, at a binary level, to identify and modify the left and right channel data. Or maybe just some links to information on the mp3 file format at the level I'd need to do this.

Appreciate all help.
Chuck Bevitt