Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Help with very, very old home theater equipment (Read 4368 times) previous topic - next topic

Help with very, very old home theater equipment

Hello everyone,

I am new to home theater stuff, and I was recently given a set of speakers, along with an amp and pre-amp. I have been searching all over the web for manuals and whatnot for this stuff, but to no avail. The equipment, a Mitsubishi DA-M30 amp and DA-P30 pre-amp, as well as Vandersteen Model 2 speakers are from around 1986. I have been trying to get these things to work with my TV and Cable box, but i just cant seem to hook them up. I have all the proper wires, as the previous owner hooked it up before he gave them to me to make sure they worked. The only thing I had to buy was the speaker wiring and banana plugs.

On my first attempt, I hooked up the speakers, amp, and pre-amp but there was no sound. The amp had the lights flashing on the front saying it was receiving sound from the tv, but there was nothing coming out of the speakers. With this, I thought my wiring and banana plugs was the root of the problem. Anyways, I have the wire stripped and wrapped around the screws (for lack of proper name) in the back of the amp, then running to the speakers via the banana plugs. Is there something I am missing about this step? Sorry for being so vague, any input is appreciated.

Thanks,
Evan

Reply #1
Did you hook up the preamplifier to the amplifier?  This is usually done with RCA or XLR cables.

Reply #2
yes, there are RCA cords running from the pre-amp to the amp. They go from the pre-amp's output to the amp's input outlets.