Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Question about foobar2000 w/WASAPI (Read 4007 times) previous topic - next topic

Question about foobar2000 w/WASAPI

I'm new to foobar. I'm running Windows Vista  with a ASUS Xonar DX sound card. I have an Emotiva XDA-1 external dac, a headphone amp and headphones.
I have an S/PDIF optical connection from the sound card to the dac. Foobar is configured to output via WASAPI and S/PDIF pass-through. I have confirmed that the output is in exclusive mode.

I want to get a bit exact data stream from my music files on the PC to the dac, and control volume from the dac. This setup seems to be doing that. However, the volume slider on the foobar panel still works. If I can change the volume in foobar, I am necessarily changing the data stream to the dac. How then, can it be said that the data stream is bit exact?
Am I missing something here?

I have the volume slider set to max volume - the setting which shows a 0.0db adjustment. I'm guessing that this is the setting that does not alter the data.

By way of comparison, I also have installed a trial version of JRiver's Media Center and have it configured for exclusive mode and S/PDIF pass-through. When I do this the volume control in Media Center is set to "System"  and the slider adjustment is disabled.

Does foobar need a similar control to insure bit exact operation?

Bill

Reply #1
I have the volume slider set to max volume - the setting which shows a 0.0db adjustment. I'm guessing that this is the setting that does not alter the data.

Correct.

Does foobar need a similar control to insure bit exact operation?