Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: New to resampling. Need help with sox and foo_dsp_resampler (Read 4367 times) previous topic - next topic

New to resampling. Need help with sox and foo_dsp_resampler

Hello everybody, I'm new to the downsample thing and been reading all your posts. I downloaded the foobar plugin and Sox to try both with the same file and then bit compare the downsampled files in foobar. However two things called my attention: 1 when I downsampled with foobar the bit depth came down from 24 to 16 as expected but the file remains at 96hz. 2 The Sox.exe was intalled but when I hit the icon it doesn't open, only a DOS black window pops up and dissapears immediately.

As far I followed this topic, there should be no difference in the output files downsample by either foobar plugin or Sox, right?

My main concerns are the 2496 Lampinski tapes and some vinyls at 24-96 and 24-192.

Am I taking the correct path?

Thanks everyone, you're wonderful.

Reply #1
Hello everybody, I'm new to the downsample thing and been reading all your posts. I downloaded the foobar plugin and Sox to try both with the same file and then bit compare the downsampled files in foobar. However two things called my attention: 1 when I downsampled with foobar the bit depth came down from 24 to 16 as expected but the file remains at 96hz.

It sounds like you didn't enable resampling in foobar.

2 The Sox.exe was intalled but when I hit the icon it doesn't open, only a DOS black window pops up and dissapears immediately.