Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Discussion of NHK ultrasonic test (Read 6401 times) previous topic - next topic

Discussion of NHK ultrasonic test

Link to the paper.

Disclaimer: I'm not a statistician. I'm an engineer that happened to use probabilities and statistics, probably a little more than other engineers.

First, let's understand their main experiment design. From the paper: "The tests were conducted on 36 subjects who evaluated each sound stimulus once or twice. Thus, each stimulus was evaluated 40 times in total." So, there are 720 cells (36x20), and 800 trials were conducted (40x20). The average cell count is ~ 1.111, in other words each stimulus was tested by each subject 1.111 times on average. This implies that a subject was tested on average on 22.222 stimuli (not all of them distinct of course). There is no word how the "extra" 80 trials were conducted, but let's assume they were distributed randomly amongst the cells.

The only reason I see why someone would come up with a design like the above, is to test some omnibus hypothesis. But there is none tested in the paper. Instead there are doing row and column tests. The problem is that this (randomized) design seems very awkward for such purpose. Due to the 1.111 average cell count, for any row or column, you get a repeated measures test, but with a large number of empty cells for the 2nd measurement.