Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Normalize before or Mp3 gain after? (Read 4503 times) previous topic - next topic

Normalize before or Mp3 gain after?

Hi I am new to this and I just have a quick question. Is it better to normalize my wav's in Exact Audio Copy until I finally through trial and error and after encoding with LAME arrive at a volume level that reads 89.0 as measured in Mp3 Gain? Or is it better to just rip the wav unnormalized then after encoding adjust track gain in Mp3 gain? Or does it not matter at all? Thanks

Reply #1
Or is it better to just rip the wav unnormalized then after encoding adjust track gain in Mp3 gain?

Rip the wav unnormalized then after use mp3gain.

Reply #2
First of all, mp3gain uses the replaygain method of normalizing, which is much more intelligent. Second of all, I understand that normalizing wave files is a lossy process due to rounding. Normalizing using mp3gain is completely lossless and reversible because each mp3 frame has a global gain field and mp3gain just increments or decrements this value by 1 (1.5db) at a time.

Reply #3
use mp3gain of course. too easy.

Reply #4
I was wondering the same thing.  I've been ripping cds today and I noticed that many tracks are coming out as %100.0 peak...  Does that mean I've already lost data or does the wav file retain values even if they are at or over the peak?
"Have you ever been with a woman? It's like death. You moan, you scream and then you start to beg for mercy, for salvation"

Reply #5