Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: AIFF tagging not supported - alternatives? (Read 9708 times) previous topic - next topic

AIFF tagging not supported - alternatives?

Greetings. This is my first time posting here. I've recently installed Foobar2000 for its .aiff ripping capabilities. Following my first rip, I attempted to update missing information in each track's properties, but got the following message:

Could not update tags (Tagging of this file format is not supported)

My question - Is there a way to update tag info for .aiff files in Foobar2000? If not, is there another lossless format that foobar rips to that will allow tags to be updated? Is there another program that will rip to .aiff that will do this?

Thanx in advance.

Reply #1
If not, is there another lossless format that foobar rips to that will allow tags to be updated?

FLAC, ALAC, WavPack and Monkey's with plugins, ...

It is hard to imagine good reasons for using AIFF or WAV.

Reply #2
is there another lossless format that foobar rips to that will allow tags to be updated?
AIFF is an uncompressed format, and while the term lossless is technically correct, here it usually refers to losslessly compressed formats. As Porcus implied, these offer many advantages over uncompressed formats.

Reply #3
I think that tagging of AIFF should be implemented. First - WAVEs can be tagged with foobar - then why not AIFFs? Second - Beatport sells tagged AIFFs (even with artwork embedded) but currently those tags can not be even viewed, whis is uncomfortable.

Reply #4