Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: ABX'ing vinyl transfer, did I do this correctly? (Read 12977 times) previous topic - next topic

ABX'ing vinyl transfer, did I do this correctly?

I wanted to see if I could hear a difference between the vinyl I transferred and the MP3 of the same song. For the test I converted my vinyl transferred file from FLAC to 320CBR LAME MP3 to match the format and bitrate of the download file provided with the record. I ran the ABX in Foobar with Replaygain enabled. I listened through my computer desktop speakers. I'm new to ABX tests so if I should have run more trials please let me know. The results log is below:

foo_abx 1.3.4 report
foobar2000 v1.2.9
2013/08/30 15:31:58

File A: F:\Music\DBPoweramp_conversions_Samsung\MP3\vinyl_v_MP3test\Various Artists\Sound City - Real to Reel\originals\4-The Man That Never Was.mp3
File B: F:\Music\DBPoweramp_conversions_Samsung\MP3\vinyl_v_MP3test\Various Artists\Sound City - Real to Reel\03a_The Man That Never Was_vinyl_transfer.mp3

15:31:58 : Test started.
15:35:12 : 01/01  50.0%
15:36:58 : 02/02  25.0%
15:39:44 : 03/03  12.5%
15:41:56 : 04/04  6.3%
15:43:47 : 05/05  3.1%
15:45:04 : 06/06  1.6%
15:46:20 : 07/07  0.8%
15:49:56 : 08/08  0.4%
15:51:30 : 09/09  0.2%
15:54:28 : 10/10  0.1%
15:59:01 : 11/11  0.0%
16:00:31 : Test finished.

----------
Total: 11/11 (0.0%)

The biggest difference I noticed between the files was the sound of the cymbals. One file had a much clearer cymbal crash and fade. The track from vinyl was a "clean" transfer with no pops & clicks or hiss.

Reply #1