Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Getting strange spectrograms from my vinyl rips (Read 6364 times) previous topic - next topic

Getting strange spectrograms from my vinyl rips

In the last couple of days i ripped a few vinyls out of my collection. I'm new to vinyls and just wanted to fool a little bit around.
Everything went good and the recordings are all sounding fine. Sometimes i check few of my audio files with Spek a "Acoustic Spectrum Analyser".
I don't weight a spectrogram of an audio file too much, i just want to see where the cutoff frequencies are.
I then realized that the spectogram of my vinyl recordings all have strange constant lines in them on certain frequencies. Some of them are beneath 20 kHz and should therefore be audible if they are really existent right ? However the phenomenon is not audible and I cant see anything static at these frequencies when i view the live "spectrum" in foobar while listening to a silence part of the audio file.

Anyway here is the phenomenon I'm talking about:

I get the same phenomenon when I'm viewing the spectrogram in Audacity:

I use a Dual 1237 A turntable which is a part of a Saba Ultra HiFi Center 9903.
The direct line signal goes from a 5 pin DIN cable adapted onto two 6,35 mm stereo phone connectors into my Lexicon I-O | 22.
I'm recording with Cubase LE 8 at 24bit 96kHz. Yes I'm aware that 24bit 96kHz is an overkill for a vinyl ripped from a standart setup.
My plan was to bounce them out of Cubase in 16bit 44.1kHz FLAC. I tried to record the vinyl on different settings, sampelrates and bits per sample.