Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.

Poll

What distributed computing project are you participating in?

United Devices
[ 6 ] (28.6%)
Distributed.net
[ 2 ] (9.5%)
Seti@Home
[ 2 ] (9.5%)
Folding@Home
[ 3 ] (14.3%)
Other, not listed (please specify below)
[ 0 ] (0%)
None
[ 8 ] (38.1%)

Total Members Voted: 23

Topic: Distributed Computing (Read 2542 times) previous topic - next topic

Distributed Computing

These are just the most popular projects I could think of.

Personally, I have been running United Devices for nearly two years. I have about 2,5 years of CPU time, but at certain points I had more than 6 machines working 24/7 (to put the competition (ie. my friends) behind me ).

I chose UD because I think they serve a very nice purpose (cure for cancer) as opposed to cracking some silly encryption (not that encryption is silly, of course), or finding E.T. (like that is likely to happen).

What are you running, and what are your motives? If you are not running anything, then why? Did you specifically choose not to, or have you simply not gotten around to it? Or didn't you know such projects existed?

Please don't turn this thread into an advertising thread for your team and/or favorite project.

Distributed Computing

Reply #1