Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Foobar vs Roon feature comparison (Read 1468 times) previous topic - next topic

Foobar vs Roon feature comparison

I've been using FB2k for nearly 20 years, but I always like to see what else is out there.  Recently I downloaded Roon for a trial, and overall I've been unimpressed considering the hype.  No way I'm paying for it, because Foobar is still a better piece of software that Roon wouldn't be able to adequately replace.  (Roon really doesn't work well with my 'workflow' - making and editing playlists constantly, file management, etc.)  However there are a couple nice features it has that I would love to figure out a way to integrate into FB2k, if possible:

First, with Roon, I can use a second computer in the house as a "remote control".  My library and speakers are connected to my desktop PC, and with Roon I can use my MacBook to control playback from across my apartment.  I feel like I remember there's a way to do this with FB2k, but I'm not sure how.  Can anyone help with guidance?

Second, Roon can do algorithmic playback based on a song or artist, using only local files.  It's basically a Spotify radio station based on a song, but only using your own library.  Very cool.  This one is more of a long shot, but has anyone ever tried to figure out a way to incorporate algorithmic playback into Foobar?

Re: Foobar vs Roon feature comparison

Reply #1