Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: On Poweramps... (Read 2639 times) previous topic - next topic

On Poweramps...

I have the opportunity to acquire an old IED 6000 power amplification system.  However, it's missing stuff (maybe) and I have no experience controlling and hooking up a power amp driven system.  Any words of wisdom or anyone knowledgeable about what is needed to control an older power amp like this?

all help appreciated.

On Poweramps...

Reply #2
I'm not particularly sure at the moment, as I haven't quite figured out what kind of interface (if any) I'll need to control it.  I'm getting it for significantly cheaper then a new amp would cost, so I am contemplating replacing my current (loaned) amp with it.  This would also be nice because I occasionally use my speaker system to produce lots of noise and MC medium size parties.

I'm mostly concerned with finding out if I need a preamp setup or something like that, or if I'd be able to attach and drive it directly from my computer (assume I can get individual channel output from my sound card or some ugly hash thereof.)

That is the system I'm referring to.  That particular file is pretty much the extent of the information I've been able to find online in reference to this particular system.  The manual I'm getting with the system seems to be somewhat more detailed, but mostly in reference to the individual modules available for the unit...

On Poweramps...

Reply #3