Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: EAC/Lame 3.98.2 help (Read 7442 times) previous topic - next topic

EAC/Lame 3.98.2 help

Good Afternoon, definite newbie here but I always loved the info I've seen given here so here it goes.  I have had EAC v0.95pb5 bundled with Lame 3.90.3. and have been using it for years and have been fairly happy with the results.  I have been reading that it is advisable to upgrade the version of the Lame compressor because of many reasons.  Then on the other hand I have also read that the one I have is the desirable version....so who knows.

I finally took the plunge and downloaded the zipped bundle of the Lame 3.98.2 sent it to my "My Documents" directory which is a different location from my original bundle which was in my "My Music" directory.  I have done some testing in EAC and gone back and forth changing the file extension in compression options in EAC and everything seems to be working. When I user define Lame.exe from "My Documents" it compresses through the v3.98.2 and when I user define Lame.exe from "My Music" it compresses through the v.3.90.3...however, when the ripping and compression is completed the finished files are still identified as EAC0.95pb5 - lame 3.90.3 aps files no matter which compression extension I use. Is this an association from the original bundle in the "My Music" file?