Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Comparing Ogg & MP3 in CoolEdit (Read 4673 times) previous topic - next topic

Comparing Ogg & MP3 in CoolEdit

Not being an expert, I'm not sure what (if anything) this means.

I recently encoded a pink noise WAV file using both Ogg RC3, and LAME.

I then loaded the resulting files in Cooledit to look at the frequency analysis, and compared them visually with the original WAV file.

With Ogg drop set at about 50% quality (roughly the same file size as fast standard), there was an obvious difference.

I was able to visually match up the peaks and valleys by comparing the Ogg file to the WAV file. Not so with the MP3. I finally made an MP3 at the insane setting. Still doesn't resemble the original file.

When I cranked Ogg up, it looked exactly like the WAV file. Hell, at 50% it was pretty damn close.

Does any of this translate to actual sound quality? I expect Ogg to be a bit better, but this was too much.

Now I feel really depressed that I just bought an MP3 player for my Explorer.

I guess it doesn't matter if I can't hear the difference, but I know it's there.

Is this type of comparison pointless?

Brett

Reply #1
such comparison isn't useless, but the real point is how it sounds.  My guess as to why you found the visual difference so striking: a lowpass filter used by lame might create lower peaks than you'd find in the ogg files.  Not sure if this is what you're seeing.  But the real issue is, of course, how it sounds to you.  And ogg is generally quite a bit better than mp3 for sound quality at a given bitrate.