Skip to main content

Topic: Correct flac files with compression offset (Read 11912 times) previous topic - next topic

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
  • Dsp121
  • [*]
Correct flac files with compression offset
Hi

Is it possible to correct FLAC files which have been encoded with the EAC Compression Offset feature set on?

Thanks

  • pdq
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #1
Shouldn't that feature only apply to lossy encoding?

  • Dsp121
  • [*]
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #2
I don't know for sure but I always thought that it applies to all encoders used within EAC.

Moderation: Removed unnecessary full quote of previous post.  Please learn how to reply without quoting the previous post in full.
  • Last Edit: 09 March, 2009, 02:47:08 PM by greynol

  • pdq
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #3
I don't know much about EAC, but a lossless encoder should never need a compression offset correction because it has no compression offset.

  • greynol
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #4
To get rid of them add the following parameter when decoding using flac:
--until=-4608

Try CUE Tools if you want a GUI solution.
13 February 2016: The world was blessed with the passing of a truly vile and wretched person.

Your eyes cannot hear.

  • Dsp121
  • [*]
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #5
I am using the Speek Multi Frontend to convert to FLAC. Do I increase the above parameters after --decode in the options field like: --decode--until=-4608 ?
Is the parameter always --until=-4608 regardless of the compression offset value used?

The compression offset to remove:  'Use compression offset : 48'

If I use CUE Tools, where can I set this parameter, please?

Thanks

Moderation: Removed unnecessary full quote of previous post.
  • Last Edit: 09 March, 2009, 02:47:23 PM by greynol

  • greynol
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #6
I am using the Speek Multi Frontend to convert to FLAC.

Then you don't have to worry about any of this.

EAC ignores the compression offset setting when ripping to wave format.
  • Last Edit: 09 March, 2009, 01:06:58 PM by greynol
13 February 2016: The world was blessed with the passing of a truly vile and wretched person.

Your eyes cannot hear.

  • Dsp121
  • [*]
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #7
I'm sorry greynol, I have made a mistake in my post above. I should have written that I am using the Speek Multi Frontend to convert from FLAC to wave.
I have some audio files that were ripped with EAC and encoded directly to FLAC with compression offset 48.

Moderation: Removed unnecessary full quote of previous post.
  • Last Edit: 09 March, 2009, 02:47:37 PM by greynol

  • greynol
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #8
add --until=-4608 as a separate parameter, IOW put a space between it and --decode.  I don't think the order of the two parameters makes a difference.

The value of the compression offset configured in EAC does not matter.  I haven't tested every value or even large values but I can assure you that the flac created with a compression offset of 0 is no different than one created with a compression offset of 48.
  • Last Edit: 09 March, 2009, 01:29:25 PM by greynol
13 February 2016: The world was blessed with the passing of a truly vile and wretched person.

Your eyes cannot hear.

  • Dsp121
  • [*]
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #9
Thank you greynol. I was using CUE Tools to join the audio splitted files to one file and it was giving me an error 'Sample count doesn't end on a frame boundary', because of the Compression Offset, I presumed. Now the conversion from multiple files to single file worked well.

What is actually the compression offset and what does the --until=-4608 parameter technically do to the files?

How can I use CUE Tools to do the same job, please?

Moderation: Removed unnecessary full quote of previous post.
  • Last Edit: 09 March, 2009, 02:47:47 PM by greynol

  • greynol
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #10
What is actually the compression offset
You'll have to ask EAC's author, since AFAICT it just adds 4608 samples of silence.

what does the --until=-4608 parameter technically do to the files?
http://flac.sourceforge.net/documentation_...general_options

How can I use CUE Tools to do the same job, please?
You'll have to play around with it because I only use CUE Tools for its AR functionality.  I'm not sure if the typo has been corrected in the latest version, but in 1.9.4 it can be found in the Advanced Settings under the CUETools tab as the setting "Truncate extra 4206 samples if present".
13 February 2016: The world was blessed with the passing of a truly vile and wretched person.

Your eyes cannot hear.

  • Dsp121
  • [*]
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #11
Thank you for your help, greynol.

  • SamS
  • [*]
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #12
Hello all,

I have a huge problem, and feel very fortunate to discover CUETools and this thread.

I have about 15000 FLAC files that I ripped directly from CDs starting in Jan 2007 to ~June 2008.  Apparently, each of these ripped with 4608 seconds of silence to the end of each track.  I always noticed this on gapless albums, but thought it was normal.  Now that I know it is not, I am committed to correcting this.  Re-ripping the discs is not a good option (time, chaos).  I must have updated EAC around June 2008, because I found that discs ripped afterwards do not have this problem.

So, my question is: is there any easy way to batch file convert all my FLACs to remove 4608 samples and verify it is true silence?  I will do each folder manually if I have to, that will be faster than re-ripping.

Also, will my tags stay in place?

  • greynol
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #13
Since your tracks were ripped from CD there is no need to test the last 4608 samples.  I am certain that CUETools can tell the difference between a track from a CD that has 4608 extra samples and one that does not.

Your tags should be fine.
  • Last Edit: 19 April, 2010, 11:59:48 AM by greynol
13 February 2016: The world was blessed with the passing of a truly vile and wretched person.

Your eyes cannot hear.

  • SamS
  • [*]
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #14
OK, that is all sounding good.  So, if you're 100% certain that there is no chance CUETools will inadvertently chop off 4608 samples of real music, is there a way to batch all my FLAC files?

I haven't installed CUETools just yet (I'm at work now).

  • greynol
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #15
CUETools can run batches.

I am certain because I know that it is very easy to tell if the samples are extra (4608 is not evenly divisible by 588) and the author of CUETools knows exactly what he is doing.
13 February 2016: The world was blessed with the passing of a truly vile and wretched person.

Your eyes cannot hear.

  • SamS
  • [*]
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #16
CUETools can run batches.

I am certain because I know that it is very easy to tell if the samples are extra (4608 is not evenly divisible by 588) and the author of CUETools knows exactly what he is doing.


Great.  I will try this tonight.

This forum is awesome.

  • MrSinatra
  • [*]
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #17
I am in way over my head here...  but I notice some of my FLACs do not play gaplessly, and I think whats described here might be my problem.

I used EAC to rip to FLAC 1.2.1

I have Beatle remaster albums that have a little hiccup between tracks.  I hear it on winamp.  I have RG set to album.  winamp supports gapless playback.

how exactly do I diagnose and /or fix my FLACs if whats described in this thread is in fact the issue?  I haven't used cue tools.  can it tell me whats wrong?

and what pref in EAC exactly do I need to check to make sure this doesn't happen going forward?

  • lvqcl
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Developer
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #18
I haven't used cue tools.  can it tell me whats wrong?

It has "Truncate extra 4608 samples if present" option

and what pref in EAC exactly do I need to check to make sure this doesn't happen going forward?


The first post in this thread mentions "EAC Compression Offset feature"
  • Last Edit: 26 April, 2013, 06:33:38 AM by lvqcl

  • MrSinatra
  • [*]
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #19
thx for the reply.  I have since opened my FLACs in audacity, and I notice about a tenth of a second of silence tacked onto the end.  is that 4608 samples?  or a multiple of it?


  • korth
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #20
1 second = 44100 samples

BTW the Compression Offset feature was removed from EAC as of version 1.0 beta 1 (changelog)
korth

  • MrSinatra
  • [*]
Correct flac files with compression offset
Reply #21
I have successfully gotten my flacs to be gapless using cuetools, but the app itself is daunting, at least at first.  still, really impressive.

I have other questions, but will make new threads, thx for the help!