Skip to main content
Topic: recommend linux software (Read 3105 times) previous topic - next topic

recommend linux software

I know this topic has been discussed to death hear but I am extremely new to the Linux community.  I recently installed Yellow Dog Linux on my PS3 and I am looking for a good jukebox software.  My main goal in installing Linux was to use my PS3 as a media hub as the PS3 is not compatible with iTunes AAC ID tag info.  I am familiar with programs like iTunes and foobar2000 so a Linux program that has a UI similar to those would be nice.  I tried installing RealPlayer 10 and it installed but I cannot open the program.

recommend linux software

Reply #1
I am familiar with programs like iTunes and foobar2000 so a Linux program that has a UI similar to those would be nice.

Try Amarok.  After searching for various audio catalog/player programs myself, I ended up liking this one the best.  Not ever having used iTunes or foobar2k, I don't know if the UI is similar, but I do think it's fairly good.

recommend linux software

Reply #2
My favourite is Sonata + MPD. Gapless playback with a no thrills usable UI = perfect for me.

recommend linux software

Reply #3
I know this topic has been discussed to death hear but I am extremely new to the Linux community.  I recently installed Yellow Dog Linux on my PS3 and I am looking for a good jukebox software.  My main goal in installing Linux was to use my PS3 as a media hub as the PS3 is not compatible with iTunes AAC ID tag info.  I am familiar with programs like iTunes and foobar2000 so a Linux program that has a UI similar to those would be nice.  I tried installing RealPlayer 10 and it installed but I cannot open the program.

I'm quite happy with Amarok. Its layout is similar to iTunes: