Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Alternatives to Itunes and Flac: SongBird (Read 6345 times) previous topic - next topic

Alternatives to Itunes and Flac: SongBird

Hello everybody:

I am new in this fantastic comunity, I am surprised of finding such a place. Congratulations! I did not know where to put this, so in General (excuses to the administrators if I am wrong).

So, I am moving all the CDs to the computer. EAC + Flac. Hours of reading and configurating EAC. Now, I am running.

Now, we have the problem of the tags, and the problem of the player. I do not want to convert the music to MP3 to listen to it, and I want to see the tags in the player. I want Itunes, of course. But Apple hates us, so, no FLAC in Itunes at the moment.

I do not like most of the players I have seen with support for FLAC. I found this one Songbird, that even if is not a real player, is the most similar one to Itunes. It can read FLAC without problems (it does not show the time of the song, though). It can not read the tags straightforward, but it allows Bulk convertion of the inside tags for the program. So, we can add albums and making bulk convertions by artist, and in pretty short time, organize the thing.

Of course, until Itunes is not ready, this is only half solution, but is the only one who suited me. Maybe it will suit others too. I would like to listen any other suggestions now that I only have converted 20 CDs. I could still change.

PS: songbird is Free Software, and I am going to write to them, maybe they can add full support for Flac and his tags

Reply #1