Skip to main content

Topic: REACT 2 Released (Read 984882 times) previous topic - next topic

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
REACT 2 Released
Reply #75
Are you starting EAC or REACT? When you run REACT it creates the INI file for you. You should always start with REACT going forward.


Yep, I'm running REACT.exe from C:\Program Files\REACT2\
You have to right click the exe and select 'Run as administrator' to get it to create the ini.  Apparently react.exe isn't allowed to create files in the Program Files directory if it isn't run by an administrator.
  • Last Edit: 03 December, 2006, 02:27:03 PM by SpiceWeasel

  • FauDrei
  • [*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #76
Hi,

Perhaps this information will spare someone's nerves and time. I've certainly spent a lot of both on this...

Watch out for the dots at the end of the album (or artist) name. When using REACT in track mode on album called f.e. "The Very Best of...", nothing will be converted.

Reason?

You can not have directory names which end with dots (most probably because of . and .. being current and parent directory).

In mentioned case ("The Very Best of..."), the directory will be created but without the dots f.e. "Q:\MUSiC\WiP\Wavpack\Mike Oldfield\[1996] The Very Best of\". Encoder will then fail to create output file because it will try to write to f.e. "Q:\MUSiC\WiP\Wavpack\Mike Oldfield\[1996] The Very Best of...\01 - Sentinel.wv".

Obvious way to solve the problem is to remove ending dots from album (or artist's) name, but this is not the flexible nor elegant way of doing it...

Possible solution could be to use pushd/popd before/after invoking encoder, and invoking encoder with just the filename.

...and BTW, nice tool - keep up the good work



            V3

  • Mangix
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #77
You can not have directory names which end with dots (most probably because of . and .. being current and parent directory).

you're right. however, i just tried mkdir(with cmd.exe) and when i tried to make a directory with the name "blahblah...", it made a directory named "blahblah". must have something to do with the way REACT or EAC writes directories.

  • Synthetic Soul
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
REACT 2 Released
Reply #78
It's down to how Windows creates directories.

REACT is setting the directory name as "<something>..." but when it tells Windows to create this folder Windows creates "<something>".

You can test this yourself by just trying to create a new folder using Explorer.

Knowing that Windows cannot create a folder with 1-n full stops (periods) at the end I think REACT may have to check and amend its variable accordingly.

E.g.:

Code: [Select]
Func fRemoveTrailingPeriods($strText)
    Return StringRegExpReplace($strText, "^(.*?)\.+$", "\1")
EndFunc
  • Last Edit: 04 December, 2006, 11:15:25 AM by Synthetic Soul
I'm on a horse.

  • tycho
  • [*][*][*][*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #79
Thanks for making me aware of this. Release 2.0 will add a fix. Unfortunately, I had no time for doing development on this last week, but hopefully within a week it should be ready. @soul: I'm still using AutoIt 3.1.1, and regex are not included there. I'll just remove any trailing dots. Edit: I'll enclose any trailing dots with []. E.g. "The Very Best Of..." becomes "The Very Best Of[...]"
As an observation, folders and files with leading dots are possible to create from a command shell, however explorer does not allow you to create them at all!
  • Last Edit: 05 December, 2006, 04:14:27 AM by tycho

  • Synthetic Soul
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
REACT 2 Released
Reply #80
Slightly OT, but, I had to upgrade to 3.2.1.10 (beta) as AVG anti-virus started complaining about AutoItSC.bin in the previous version!  Whenever I tried compiling a script it would hassle me to death.
I'm on a horse.

  • bhoar
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Members (Donating)
REACT 2 Released
Reply #81
Slightly OT, but, I had to upgrade to 3.2.1.10 (beta) as AVG anti-virus started complaining about AutoItSC.bin in the previous version!  Whenever I tried compiling a script it would hassle me to death.


From what I've read, a significant number of malware apps are based on the AutoIT core executable, so I don't think the false positive issue will ever be solved.

-brendan
Hacking CD Robots & Autoloaders: http://hyperdiscs.pbwiki.com/

  • schnittlich
  • [*][*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #82
Just started using REACT 2 (been using the older version for quite some time) and have a question:

In the previous version, I was able to run multiple sessions simultaneously.  To be more specific, my computer has 4 Plextor Premium drives that I use for extraction.  I have 4 instances of EAC running, in the past, have been able to have it all going at one time.  With the new version, only 1 REACT command window seems to be able to open at a time.  If the compression routine is running, I cannot seem to get another running, it just never opens up.

Any thoughts?

Thanks again for this GREAT software…

brett

  • awnm
  • [*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #83
Thanks for the new version - it's great. The new format (single config file) makes it much easier.
This time around I was ripping Ottmar Liebert's "Poets & Angels". Debug showed that it couldn't create the album directory, apparently because of the ampersand. I don't recall having this probelm before.
I am having the same problem - tried to rip "The Songs Of Tim & Neil Finn" and the directory created was "The Songs Of Tim ". React2 then failed when trying to put the MP3's in the directory, as it was expecting the full name. When I changed the album name to "...Tim And Neil..." it worked fine.

  • tycho
  • [*][*][*][*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #84
schnittlich: I can't see why this version should be different than v1.0 in this respect. It should still support multiple instances (although I haven't tested myself). Please retest and report.

awnm: Version 2.0 final is ready, and does not have this problem. I will release it as soon as I have updated the REACT wiki documentation.

  • phaedra
  • [*][*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #85
... I will release it as soon as I have updated the REACT wiki documentation.


The links at the bottom of the wiki page should be updated (they still point to the download & discussion pages for v1.0).

  • Meddler
  • [*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #86
First of all let me say thank you tycho.

I've tried using REACT in the past with little success, in fact only yesterday I was pulling my hair out with my track based rips (whole album encoded as one track with the name of track 2)

Then lo and behold a new version today, which quite simply worked.

Perfect rip & encode + replay gain etc.

Just two questions if I may:
  • I've been using foobar to replaygain my mp3s and I notice a slight discrepancy between your figures and the ones garnered from foobar. Any idea why?
  • There are also 3 new tags which I don't understand (MP3GAIN_ALBUM_MINMAX, MP3GAIN_MINMAX & MP3GAIN_UNDO). Help!

Thanks again.

  • tycho
  • [*][*][*][*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #87
Meddler: You're welcome.

1) metamp3/mp3gain and foobar has different implementations.  I think there will be no audible loudness differences.

2) metamp3 is similar to mp3gain, but writes ID3v2 tags instead of APEv2. REACT applies albumgain by default, and adjusts it by 3dB to 92dB, so that it can be played back on every DAP with consistent (and sufficient) loudness. The UNDO tag is there so that you may undo the gain applied with metamp3 --undo-gain <files>.

Edit: You will notice that all your mp3's will get album gain of about -3.0dB (relative to 89) because of the default settings.

If you don't want to apply album gain, set ApplyAlbumGain=0 in the REACT.ini file.
If you don't want replay gain tags at all, set ReplayGain=0 in the REACT.ini file.

phaedra: Thanks, I will update the wiki soon.
  • Last Edit: 12 December, 2006, 04:37:38 AM by tycho

  • Synthetic Soul
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
REACT 2 Released
Reply #88
Ooh.  I did it already.  I was reading the new wiki and noticed so I updated them.
I'm on a horse.

  • drbeachboy
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #89
Hi tycho,

Would you please explain to me why these 2 lines are written the way they are? In the INI file, I had "UseWaveGainAG" set to 0 and "AddCuesheetAG" set to 1. Everytime I ran the program I couldn't figure out why WaveGain ran before FLAC was started to encode, until I saw the 2nd line below in REACT-image.cfg. Why is run_wavegain set to 1 when AddCuesheetAG is set to 1? Is there a correlation?

SET run_wavegain=@UseWaveGainAG@
IF @AddCuesheetAG@==1 SET run_wavegain=1


Thanks in advance for the explanation. And thank you again for REACT. :-)
Surf's Up!
"Columnated Ruins Domino"

  • Synthetic Soul
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator
REACT 2 Released
Reply #90
If I understand correctly @AddCuesheetAG@ represents whether album gain values should be written to the cuesheet.

They can only be written if first calculated by WavGain.
I'm on a horse.

  • tycho
  • [*][*][*][*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #91
Yep, because of limitations in DOS scripting language, the two lines simply says:

"IF @AddCuesheetAG@ = 1 OR @UseWaveGainAG@ = 1 THEN execute WaveGain."


The @UseWaveGainAG@ variable says if you want to transfer the WaveGain album gain values to the encoded files, rather than using metaflac, wvgain, metamp3, aacgain..., which takes a bit longer.

  • drbeachboy
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #92
tycho & SS,

Thank you for the explanations.
Surf's Up!
"Columnated Ruins Domino"

  • Meddler
  • [*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #93
1) metamp3/mp3gain and foobar has different implementations.  I think there will be no audible loudness differences.

2) metamp3 is similar to mp3gain, but writes ID3v2 tags instead of APEv2. REACT applies albumgain by default, and adjusts it by 3dB to 92dB, so that it can be played back on every DAP with consistent (and sufficient) loudness. The UNDO tag is there so that you may undo the gain applied with metamp3 --undo-gain <files>.

Edit: You will notice that all your mp3's will get album gain of about -3.0dB (relative to 89) because of the default settings.


Does this mean that ApplyAlbumGain "changes" the mp3 file as opposed to just tagging it? My DAP handles replaygain through tags anyway so I'd rather leave the files alone as much as possible.

Thank you for your swift response and your software, saved me a load of time writing a VB program

  • robwade
  • [*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #94
tycho,

Hello from a longtime enthusiast and first time poster -

First and foremost, thank you for developing REACT.  It's truly an early holiday gift!

Question/comment:  With regard to VA tagging, "TITLE" and "PERFORMER" appear REVERSED in the produced cue sheet (testing FLAC image and OGG tracks - REACT 2.0 FINAL).  The result of course is that these two fields tag "backwards" for both the FLAC image and OGG tracks.  Am I doing something obviously wrong?

No changes were made in config at all.  Note that non-VA discs tag perfectly.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and comments.

  • Ahmet
  • [*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #95
Hi everyone,

First of all I have to express my appreciation to the author of this awesome tool. I have been using it just for couple of days and it does exactly what I need except one thing. And this is the reason I dare to ask you.

I installed REACT 2.0 final. Decoding into image and separate track works flawlesly but I am not able to set coverdownloader to work for me.  My idea is just to cpy the cover art into the specified folders with ripped image (tracks).

A found cover art using albumart.exe is always stored in C:\"album".jpg form while the REACT script expects to have it in "OutRoot"\"album".jpg. It means at the end that the album covers are not copied to the specified folders for my rips.

I have struggled with coverdownloader last night but for some reason the folder set for storing the dowloaded covers cannot be changed. Every time after manual change it is again reset back to C:\"album".jpg.  I do not know if it is a problem of albumart.exe or REACT.

Does enyone have the same problem ???

Thanks for any advice.

  • tycho
  • [*][*][*][*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #96
@Meddler: You are correct. ApplyAlbumGain should probably have been set to 0 by default. Note that 'ApplyAlbumGain' is only for lossy formats. FLAC and WAVPACK are always tagged only.

@robwade: Welcome to the forum. This is due to that some have registered the artist / title reversed in the freedb database. Try another VA disc, and you will probably get it right.

@Ahmet: Welcome to the forum. Set a fixed extraction directory by "Use directory ..." in the EAC options -> Directories. Set it to any direrectory, it is only a temporary directory for REACT. Restart EAC/REACT. Albumart.exe should now set its output path to this directory.
  • Last Edit: 13 December, 2006, 04:35:48 AM by tycho

  • Ahmet
  • [*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #97
Thanks Tycho for your prompt answer!!

I knew it would be something so easy that would be embarassing to ask.

But, anyway, it might help to some other newbie like me:)

  • tycho
  • [*][*][*][*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #98
I've just found a small glitch in the REACT-image.cfg file, in the NeroAac section:

The line:
Code: [Select]
IF @ApplyAlbumGain@==1 @tools@\aacgain.exe %ApplyAG_AacGain% *.m4a > gainlog.txt

should be:
Code: [Select]
IF %add_rg%==1 @tools@\aacgain.exe %ApplyAG_AacGain% *.m4a > gainlog.txt


Without the fix, AAC files are RG scanned only when the album gain also is *applied* to the files.

  • Martin H
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
REACT 2 Released
Reply #99
I would just like to say many thanks to the great one i.e. tycho  for adding not only WaveGain and --scale support, but also optional album gain REM comments into the embedded cuesheet

I can't thank you enough tycho and i really appreciate all the hard work that you have layed into this great tool.

Thanks again tycho, you are the man



CU, Martin.
  • Last Edit: 16 December, 2006, 06:21:27 AM by Martin H