Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Inherited Amp, need advice. (Read 3909 times) previous topic - next topic

Inherited Amp, need advice.

First of all, I'm new to Hi-fi's, but that doesn't mean i'm totally stupid and ignorant (well..?), anyway please be gentle, this is my first post on this board, although i have been trying to learn by reading it for a month or 2. anyway...

I just inherited 2*Boothroyd Stuart Meridian 103 mono power amps , and a matching pre-amp.

With the previous owner, it was powering 2 gale 402's, but those broke and they are far too big for my room anyway.

I know its a nice system (for its age) but i don't have speakers to match its (from what i can work out) 200W power, I was wondering if anybody could point me in the right direction i should be looking in for speakers, what manufacturers (or models) i should be looking at.? My budget is around £100 (not alot i know) but i am eager to get some speakers that do it justice, second hand perhaps?

I know it isn't like that here but i am warey from other forums, so i am sorry for anything i have gotten wrong, please just tell me.

Thanks in advance.

BMP.

Reply #1
Great amps!  Get some used Spendor BBC studio monitors (LS-1's ?).  You lucky guy. 
Nov schmoz kapop.

Reply #2
Thankyou very much boojum, i will look into this. I went into many hifi stores asking for advice, many have turned me away saying they had nothing that would do it justice, which was really cool (never happened before, except for pc parts)

thanks again.

Reply #3
I wish I could inherit something like that.  I'd suggest you take a look at the used market.