Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Really lossless? (Read 7391 times) previous topic - next topic

Really lossless?

Hey,

I got this APE file on my computer, and wanted to check if it really was lossless. So I decoded it and made a graph in EAC, here's what i got:

Thanks in advance for your help
how much is the fish?

Really lossless?

Reply #1
It seems to be from a lossy source, especially looking towards the beginning and end of the file where the sound isn't as complex and the lowpass is higher. I'm not a programming or psychoacoustic expert or anything, but it really does look like a lossy source.
Acid8000 aka. PhilDEE

Really lossless?

Reply #2
Simple answer: Mokeys Audio is lossless!

Really lossless?

Reply #4
Simple answer: Mokeys Audio is lossless!
[a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=300848"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I think you misunderstood me.    Off course Monkey's Audio is lossless, but the source file which was encoded with Monkey's Audio could possibly not be the original CD, but a lossy file like an mp3.

Maybe the topic title wasn't totally adequate 
how much is the fish?

Really lossless?

Reply #5
The source was definately lossly: There are "holes" for a lack of a better term in the spectrum around ~8 kHz after the 10 second mark where the encoder left out some of the audio because it was relatively quiet and would have been masked by the rest of the sound present.

Really lossless?

Reply #6
Looks like a lossy source.  Here's my spectrum straight from the WavPack:

Really lossless?

Reply #7